Shane Nicholls and Elinor Shpunt won Open singles titles at the Manitoba Clay Court Championships, held June 20-26 at Taylor Tennis Club. For Nicholls, it was his second Open victory of 2016 after winning the WLTC Open and losing the Deer Lodge Classic final to Kevin Kylar. Shpunt (just 12 years old), who captured the Deer Lodge Classic title a week earlier, has won six titles in three 2016 adult tournaments: she’s won two women’s Open singles events, one women’s 4.5 singles crown, one mixed Open championship and two mixed 4.5 titles.

A total of 73 players participated in the Manitoba Clay Court Championships. Rain forced play indoors at Taylor Tennis Club for half of Saturday and all of Sunday (the last two days of the tournament). Here are the final results:

Men’s Open Singles final: Shane Nicholls def. Trevor Borland 6-3, 6-0
Women’s Open Singles final: Elinor Shpunt def. Ileana Ursatanu 6-1, 6-4
Women’s Open Doubles round-robin: 1st Lyndsay Enriquez/Lydia Gloria, 2nd Ekaterina Zhupanova/Deborah Hoglund
Mixed Open Doubles round-robin: 1st Maya Arksey/Zach Baron, 2nd Elinor Shpunt/Tony Weekes
Men’s 5.0 Singles final: Shawn Sophasath def. David Letkemann 6-0, 6-2
Men’s 4.5 Singles final: Murray Cobb def. Mack Ritcher 6-1, 5-7, 6-3
Women’s 4.5 Singles final: Lyndsay Enriquez def. Shirley Blanca 6-3, 0-6, 6-4
Men’s 4.5 Doubles final: Tom Brown/Dave Wilken def. Dong Won Kang/Tony Weekes 6-4, 6-4
Mixed 4.5 Doubles final: Elinor Shpunt/Chris Shay def. Lydia Gloria/Dong Won Kang 6-3, 6-2
Men’s 3.5 Singles final: Cory Richter def. Jeffrey Friesen 7-6, 6-3
Men’s 3.5 Doubles round-robin: 1st John Minano/Alan Vanderwater, 2nd Jack Gibbons-Kehler/Jordan Rempel