At its Annual General Meeting recently held on March 22nd, Tennis Manitoba welcomed three new board members along with one board member who is returning to serve a second term. They are:

  • David Blatt
  • Mohamed Ismath (returning)
  • Trevor Skidmore
  • Heath Vermette.

Board members currently serving a second year of a two year term are:

  • Jake Bergen
  • David Scrapneck
  • Bruce Waschuk
  • Glen Ziprick.

Tennis Manitoba would like to thank the following outgoing directors for their commitment to the tennis community in our province:

  • Lisa Bayko
  • Barry Bruce
  • Alexandra Gómez 
  • Bob Gowenlock
  • Shirley Jones
  • Lori Mann
  • Don Won Kang.

The board of directors is responsible for leading the administration and governance of Tennis Manitoba for a combination of one and two year terms. Continuing on with the Tennis Manitoba executive committee are Bruce Waschuk (president), Mohamed Ismath (vice president), and Glen Ziprick (treasurer).

The board of directors will annouce its committee chairs at its next board meeting. However, Tennis Manitoba is actively seeking more volunteers to get involved at a committee level. Please contact Tennis Manitoba if you are interested in helping out with one of these areas:

The Community Development committee implements programs aimed at attracting new players to the sport. This includes the schools program, Building Tennis Communities initiative and parks and recreation programs.

The Competitive Structures committee oversees the sanctioned tournament schedule, officiating programs, rankings, and leagues.

The High Performance committee deals with issues pertaining to junior and senior nationals, Canada Summer Games, provincial team programs, and coaching development.

The Resource Development committee develops communication tools and marketing strategies to promote tennis. This includes the website, newsletters, magazines, and sponsorship packages.