At its Annual General Meeting recently held on February 23rd, Tennis Manitoba welcomed back five board members who will be returning to serve a second term. They are:

  • Barry McArton
  • Marni Miller
  • David Scrapneck
  • Bruce Waschuk
  • Glen Ziprick.

Board members currently serving a second year of a two year term are:

  • David Blatt
  • Mohamed Ismath
  • Heath Vermette.

Tennis Manitoba would like to thank outgoing director, Trevor Skidmore, for his commitment to the tennis community in our province. During the past year Trevor chaired Tennis Manitoba’s Community Development committee, and was responsible for leading several new initiatives in 2012.

The board of directors is responsible for leading the administration and governance of Tennis Manitoba for a combination of one and two year terms. At the next board meeting, the directors will appoint an executive as well as committee chairs. Tennis Manitoba is actively seeking more volunteers to get involved at a committee level. Please contact Tennis Manitoba if you are interested in helping out with one of these areas:

The Community Development committee implements programs aimed at attracting new players to the sport. This includes the schools program, Building Tennis Communities initiative and parks and recreation programs.

The Competitive Structures committee oversees the sanctioned tournament schedule, officiating programs, rankings, and leagues.

The Player Development committee (formerly High Performance) deals with issues pertaining to junior and senior nationals, Canada Summer Games, provincial team programs, and coaching development.

The Resource Development committee plans communications and fundraising strategies to promote tennis in Manitoba. This includes the website, newsletters, magazines, and sponsorship programs.