The 2014 Manitoba Open completed finals matches indoors, at the Winnipeg Winter Club. Pictured (left to right) is tournament chair David Scrapneck, Open Men’s Singles champion Tony Larson and finalist Sean Bailey.

American Tony Larson walked away from the Kildonan Tennis Club with his third Manitoba Open men’s singles championship, a feat last accomplished by Manitoba’s Doug DeVriendt in 2002.

However, DeVriendt’s modern era records of five Manitoba Open championships, and three straight, remain safe for now. Larson previously hoisted the provincial championship trophy in 2012 and 2010.

Winnipeg’s Sean Bailey didn’t make it easy for Larson, as the Kildonan Tennis Club member pushed the champ into extra games in the second set of the final. The finals score was 6-1 7-5.

Bailey would extract some revenge after the men’s singles final, as he and partner Saul Shrom defeated the top seeded Larson and Sean Lacap in the Men’s Open Doubles final, 6-3 6-1.

In the Women’s Open Doubles championship match, it was Olga Berdynskykh and Ainsley Bishop who won 6-3 6-4 over Angela Earl and Teresa Haro.

Haro would later partner with Saul Shrom in a winning effort, defeating Alan Gardiner and Olga Berdynskykh 6-4 6-2 to take the Open Mixed Doubles title.

The Women’s Open Singles event was not held.

In wheelchair action, it was Samuel Unrau who won all his singles matches in round robin play.

Other event winners include: Jennifer Wang (women’s 5.5 singles), Patrick Fu (men’s 4.5 singles), Monika Popovic (women’s 4.5 singles), Jake Bergen (men`s 3.5 singles), Christopher Shay and Glen Ziprick (men`s 4.5 doubles), and Jovial Anoling and Lydia Gloria (mixed 4.5 doubles).

A complete listing of draws and results can be found at

Next on the tennis tournament scene in Manitoba are the women`s $25,000 CIBC Wood Gundy Challenger and men`s $15,000 Manshield Tennis Futures, both being held at the Winnipeg Lawn Tennis Club, August 16-24.